Our
missions

Through our three main missions, SACEM plays a crucial role in protecting musical creation.

Collecting & distributing
royalties

SACEM collects and distributes authors' rights for the broadcast in public (audiovisual media, concert halls, festivals, Internet services, movie theatres, shops, etc.) and for the reproduction on media (disc, video, legal digital file, DVD, CD-ROM, video game, etc.) of the works it represents.

Thanks to its network of 70 local offices in France and in French overseas departments and territories, SACEM collects programmes of works that are broadcast or reproduced.

Royalties are collected so as to reflect the real use of the works.

80%
work by work, on the basis of usage data on the dissemination and reproduction of works,

11%
by surveys,

9%
taking into account consumers habits.

SACEM also collects:

  • The Private Copy Levy for artists, performers and producers of music, audiovisual works, visual arts and writing, through Copie France.
  • Royalties due to artists and performers (members of Adami and Spedidam) and record producers (SCPP, SPPF) for the use of their works in public places, shops, nightclubs, etc.
  • Royalties due to composers for the performing arts, audiovisual productions (members of the SACD), multimedia productions (SCAM members) and graphic and plastic artists (members of the ADAGP) for the exploitation of their works in audiovisual and multimedia.
  • Fees due to international music publishers (Universal Music Publishing, Warner/Chappell Music, Wixen Music Publishing Inc., and Sharandall Music) for the world-wide digital distribution of their catalogue.
  • Physical media (CD, DVD, BR) distributed by the subsidiaries of European Universal Music.
  • Royalties for creators and publishers who are members of SOCAN (Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada), which SACEM represents in respect of Internet services in Europe.

Defending & protecting
our members

SACEM is recognised around the world for its model's accuracy and efficiency. It plays a key role within various international copyright/authors' rights organisations (Cisac, Biem, Gesac), steadfastly defending its members' interests – as it does in France within industry-wide public-interest bodies ("Tous pour la Musique", "La Coalition pour la Diversité Culturelle", "La Culture avec la Copie Privée", etc.)

SACEM also strives to offer efficient services and support to its members, 70,000 of whom have signed up to the member access pages of sacem.fr, where they can register their works on line, check usage data on their works, and take full advantage of the benefits in the SACEM PLUS programme.

Promoting & supporting creation

Cultural initiatives have been enshrined in SACEM's Statutes since 1963: nurturing artistic careers, helping to disseminate works, getting young professionals started… Few policies around the world in support of creation surpass that of SACEM. It took on a new dimension in 1985 with the introduction of the private copy levy.

Today, over 92% of funds channelled into cultural initiatives come from 25% from the private copy levies collected. The rest comes from a voluntary, so-called "statutory", contribution voted in by the Board of Directors.

In 2016, SACEM dedicated € 25.2m to cultural initiatives and supported 1,995 extremely diverse projects.

Song, jazz, rock, classical, contemporary, world, urban and electro music, music for images, poetry, comedy, audiovisual works… Cultural initiatives concern all repertoires and directly benefits creators (help with self-production, career boosts, marketing funds, etc.) as well as disseminators (show venues, festivals, producers, etc.) who programme the artists and promote them.

Nos
missions

À travers ses trois grandes missions, la Sacem joue un rôle crucial pour pérenniser la création musicale.

Collecter et répartir
les droits d'auteur

La Sacem assure la collecte et la répartition des droits d'auteur pour la diffusion publique (médias audiovisuels, salles de concert, festivals, services internet, cinémas, magasins, etc.) et pour la reproduction sur support (disques, vidéos, fichiers numériques légaux, DVD, CD-Rom, jeux vidéo…) des œuvres qu'elle représente.

Grâce à son réseau (69 implantations en France, y compris en Outre-mer), la Sacem recueille les programmes des œuvres diffusées ou reproduites.

Les droits d'auteur sont répartis au plus près de l'utilisation réelle des oeuvres.

80%
oeuvre par oeuvre,

11%
par sondage,

9%
en tenant compte des habitudes de consommation.

La Sacem collecte également :

  • La copie privée des artistes-interprètes et producteurs de musique, de l’audiovisuel, des arts visuels et de l’écrit via Copie France.
  • Les droits des artistes-interprètes (membres de l’Adami et de la Spedidam) et des producteurs de disques (SCPP, SPPF) pour la diffusion de leurs œuvres dans les lieux publics, les magasins, les discothèques…
  • Les droits des auteurs du spectacle vivant, de l’audiovisuel (membres de la SACD), du multimédia (membres de la Scam) et des arts graphiques et plastiques (membres de l’ADAGP) pour l’exploitation de leurs œuvres dans l’audiovisuel et le multimédia.
  • Les droits d’éditeurs internationaux de musique (Universal Music Publishing, Wixen Music Publishing, Inc. et Sharandall Music) pour la diffusion numérique de leur répertoire mondial.

Défendre et protéger
nos membres

Reconnue dans le monde entier pour la pertinence et l’efficacité de son modèle, la Sacem tient une place majeure au sein des différentes organisations internationales des créateurs et du droit d’auteur (Cisac, Biem, Gesac..). Elle y défend avec engagement les intérêts de ses membres, tout comme elle le fait en France aux côtés de la filière professionnelle au sein d’organismes d’intérêt général (Tous pour la musique, La coalition pour la diversité culturelle, La culture avec la copie privée…).

Parallèlement, elle s’attache à offrir services performants et dispositifs d’entraide à ses membres. Ils sont ainsi près de 80 000 à être inscrits à l’espace réservé de Sacem.fr et à pouvoir déposer leurs œuvres en ligne, consulter les données de diffusion de leurs œuvres ou encore bénéficier librement du programme d’avantages Sacem PLUS.

Promouvoir et soutenir la création

La Sacem déploie une politique de soutien à la création qui est l’une des plus importantes au monde. Accompagnement des carrières artistiques, aide à la diffusion des œuvres et à l’insertion des jeunes professionnels, l’action culturelle est inscrite dans les statuts de la Sacem depuis 1963. Elle a pris une nouvelle dimension avec la création du dispositif de rémunération pour copie privée en 1985.

Aujourd’hui, l’action culturelle est en effet financée à plus de 92 % par des ressources issues du 25 % de la copie privée, complétées d'une contribution volontaire, dite statutaire, votée par le conseil d'administration.

En 2016, la Sacem a ainsi consacré 25,2 millions d’euros à l’action culturelle et apporté son soutien à 1 995 projets et actions d’une grande diversité.

Chanson, jazz, rock, musique classique et contemporaine, du monde, urbaine, électro, musique à l’image, poésie, humour, audiovisuel… cette action culturelle porte sur tous les répertoires et profite directement aux créateurs (aide à l’autoproduction, accompagnement de carrière, fonds de valorisation…), mais aussi aux diffuseurs (salles de spectacles, festivals, producteurs…) qui programment ces artistes et font leur promotion.